Tactical Theory

Brother Crassus

Hello all. First off, let me say I'm not a great writer. I never have been.. However, I have been a competitive tournament player for longer than I can remember. I usually score top 3 in any tournament I enter locally and have met with good sucess in larger ones as well. I began writing this essay for a friend to attempt to explain how and why I take certain builds. Hopefully you can glean something useful out of this. Be warned, it is a bit long winded and probably jumbled. If anyone would like to add to the article, feel free. I also welcome any questions if you would like further explanation.. If anyone wants to take this and do it up all pretty like a pdf with pictures of their troops for examples, be my guest. I would love to see it!

Anyways, be kind. I'm a horrible writer and hopefully someone finds something in this that helps them out...

-Brother C

Be just, and fear not.

"A good soldier obeys without question. A good officer commands without doubt

While I have no intention of trying to re-invent the wheel or to do a unit by unit break down of Codex: Space Marines, the goal of this guide is to discuss various methods of tactics and compositions I employ while using this particular codex. There are many great forums that are found with very little difficulty where the use and application of every last marine unit is discussed at great length. This is more of an exorcise in theory and tactical application. This guide is by no means exhaustive, and the theories behind many of these concepts can be applied to any Codex. Space Marines are used for examples due to general familiarity amongst the gaming community.

Brothers in arms

The mightiest man may be felled by a single shot. Seek always to improve the odds