Rogal Dorn WIP

Kaleb Daark

Hi there

I had to take a break from the Custodes 'cause I have so many other projects I have to work on .... and I have to go to work....

But Since I've been leading an Imperial Fists army for about 8 years and I'm still such a big fan of the Horus Heresy era I decided to try to make a Rogal Dorn figure.

Here's the result of the first afternoon

http://i62.photobucket.com/albums/h113/kalebdaark/DSC01318.jpg

Not great uh ?

And I 'm such a bad sculptor....

BUT I had the chance to make a deal with my friend Bruno Grelier (multiple GD winner)

and, after a month, I got this

http://i62.photobucket.com/albums/h113/kalebdaark/RogalDornFini01.jpg

http://i62.photobucket.com/albums/h113/kalebdaark/RogalDornFini04.jpg

(yes I'm a lucky man)

Now the painting

I wasn't so happy with the gold of my Custodians and I really wanted to get that one RIGHT ; so I asked around for some tips and i got this one:

On a base scorched brown, apply a first coat of a mix shining gold /snakebite leather . Then go to pure shining gold and finish with a mix of mithril and shining.

Then you've got to play with scorched brown, devlan mud and badab black washes

after 34h of painting :

http://i62.photobucket.com/albums/h113/kalebdaark/RogalWIP.jpg

after 48h of painting

http://i62.photobucket.com/albums/h113/kalebdaark/P1010080-1.jpg

Just one thing I'd like to say : my camera is a worthless piece of **** without a good macro and I don't have any real light gear. So these last photos make the figure look more brownish than it really is

And there's still a lot of work to do.

I'm planning on freehands paintings on the cape and the tabard, adding a few purity seal, and I'm sure I'll get some other ideas (that's why i'm posting this in fact)

SO people comments please!

El JuJu

Kaleb Daark

Thanks very much for the kind words people

But I'd rather need some constructive comments.