Sons of Dorn - A Short Story

PhilArmstrong

Hi there,

this is my first attempt at creating anything fictional, so thought I would post it up for opinions.

Before you read it I thought I should give you some background.

Basically I am making a successor Chapter of the Imperial Fists, who are tentatively called the Sons of Dorn. In this story they are quite a new chapter, undertaking their first mission, to bring a rebel planet back to compliance.

Darius is the Captain of a Company (haven't decided which, not 1st or 10th)

Saul is just a standard marine from a tactical squad of the same company.

I am not too pleased with the dialogue, I don't think I write that very well, but I hope its alright for a first go!

Saul woke abruptly, greeted by the whirling noise and flashing lights of his armour, designed to alert him to potentially fatal damage to his carapace. As his sight focused, all he saw around him was destroyed. The building he had stood in moments earlier was gone, replaced with rubble, smoke and outbreaks of fire.

His vox was dead and static filled his ears. As he got back to his feet he looked around for the rest of his squad. He saw no living survivor, only the occasional bright yellow helmet or shoulder pad, standing out with a stark contrast to the grey rubble and jutting metal of the ruined building.

It seemed that he might be alone in the destruction. He shuddered at the thought. He was an Astartes, designed to feel no fear. Was this fear? He decided that was impossible, the trauma he suffered and the grief he felt for his fallen Brothers was almost overwhelming.

He was snapped from his thoughts by the sound of rubble shifting behind him. He turned, pulling up his bolter to his eye line, scanning for further movement, his breathing still heavy.

“Saul, put your bolter down. You know as well as I do we were alone in the building.”

“Darius, you’re alive! I thought I was the only survivor.”