Blood Raven veteran idea

Validar

Alright, first of all I'm very new in WH40k, I've played roughly 6 months by now. I've chosen the blood ravens because of their fluff, since fluff means a lot to me in the hobby.

Though I have never done any sort of convertion, nor do I consider myself good at it, I got an idea to make my own sternguard.

The idea was to create something that you couldn't possibly mistake for tactical marines, so I got a box of Dark Angel Veterans and a box of Empire Flaggelants (for all the bits and pieces). The idea was to remove all the dark angel iconography and add bits and pieces to make it look mystical (like the hourglass/skill/key on chain from the flaggelant box).

Now, I've got two ideas for the fluff behind the squad:

1: First company veterans. Being veterans of the chapter and they carry many of the secrets that the chapter seeks to protect. They dress differently than the rest of the 1st company. The question 'why' have never been raised. It is rumoured that they differ from the rest of their company because the squad consists of carefully selected individuals, chosen to protect the chapters greatest secrets without question or delay.

As guardians of knowledge, the squad usually act as a council for the commander of the force they are a part of. It is said that the squad has used this function to make commanders heed advice they do not fully understand to protect the Chapter's secrets.

1: 5th company. Nobody truly know what happened to the fifth company, but it is known that its members bears marks of penance and redemption. This squad appears to have much to repent for. They choose to wear robes to openly show their shame. Though veterans of a thousand battles and fit for the first company, this squad refuses such an honour, thinking themself unworthy. Instead, they remain in the fifth company, seeking redemption.