South American recruit

Hola everyone,

I've been playing fantasy for about 4 years now and I thought it was time to try a bit of 40k at last, around my place it's not very popular so it's hard to get to know the game.

How did I end up in 40k then? well my best friend bought some daemons as his second fantasy army and he said "hey I could play 40k with these guys too! we should give it a try" and since I've always loved Starcraft the rest, as they say, is history.

As I said before there aren't many people into the hobby here so forums are a good way to find people to talk to about the game. So I'll be bothering you with my "n00b" questions for a while :blush:

thanks for the welcome :P

Well I just bought the black reach set with a friend and I'm keeping the Space Marines, so far that's the only thing I have. I decided to go for the marines because they remind me of the Terran in Starcraft. In the long run I'd like to have a shooty armoured force, maybe another dread or a predator I don't know. So far I'm taking it easy and learn my way with low point games.

It seems that my two most frequent opponents will be Daemons and Orks, anything I should know?

Yep theres alot of things youll want to know actually :P. If your playing normal space marines Id suggest not getting a Predator, and give you the following tips:

1) Shoot orks, and just keep shooting them. Much like the Zerg theyre built to rush, and rush you they will. So stand and shoot.

2) Daemons HATE librarians, particularly ones with a power called "Null Zone" wich forces them to reroll their invulnerable saves while within 24" of the librarian- and most Daemons only have Invulnerable saves.

3) Dont split up your forces against either of these opponents, as they can overwhelm an unsupported marine. Marines are great generalists, but need to rely on each other to maximize their effects.

4) Always take the free heavy weapon in a Tactical Squad. Always.