How to argue for Mephiston?

Theikos

I find myself in a debate among my play group. I need to know:

Is Mephiston too much for opponents to handle?

Allow me to explain my situation. I play Warhammer 40k with a small group of friends. Their armies are: (Guard, Templar, Eldar, Dark Angels, Orks, Chaos). As a group we tend to be a bit competitive amongst each other, but overall we do try to make the game fun for everyone involved. We constantly debate the more extreme elements of Warhammer 40k and try to come to decisions that promote a healthy metagame. A few examples of decisions we've made as a group:

-Our Guard player will not play a Leafblower style list.

-Our Chaos player will not play a Lash list.

-(While we do not have a Space Wolf player) We will never play Jaws of the World Wolf as we find it too powerful.

We used to play at about 2000 points, however when my codex was updated and I started playing 2000 points of Blood Angels, it proved to be very difficult for some of them to play against. As a solution we dropped down to 1500 points as our standard, feeling that it leveled the playing field a bit better, which I agreed to. I've also agreed not to play double vindicators at 1500 as we all feel that would be very difficult to face.

Those compromises aside, the current situation I find myself in is that the group is bringing up my choice of using Mephiston as something they are unable to deal with. I've played quite a few games against Eldar, Guard and Templar. The list is doing very well and Mephiston generally gets to munch on more than his value of points before biting the bullet.

Here is my current list at 1500:

Mephiston

Ras(10) Fist, Meltax2, Rhino, DB

Ras(5) Sword, Melta, Razorback, DB, TL Lascannon

Ras(5) Sword, Melta, Razorback, DB, TL Lascannon

Sanguinary Priest with Sword

Baal Predator, DB, FSC

Baal Predator, DB, HBS

Baal Predator, DB, HBS

Vindicator, DB