assault marines for the virgin

hey all,i bet the title got your attention. i'm new to warhammer.i fancy an assault marines themed army. gonna start with a 1000pt army and add to that.

so, what assault marine armies are working well for you? do they work? any advice on build. i would hate , as i'm sure you all do, to waste money on models just to leave them sitting on my shelf.

thanks.

well let me be the first to say welcome to the bolter and chainsword!!!

in terms of an army for a beginner i have a good list for ya

HQ

commander dante (i never play a game without him)

elites

sanguinary guard with death masks, infernus pistol, banner

troops

assault squad of 10, flamer, melta-gun, sarge with power fist

it kills alot, hope this has been helpful

EDIT: although i heavily suggest buying A LOT of death company and every special character in the codex. don't listen to what every one says death company are awesome. i've had mine survive my opponents entire army firing at them and kill about half of them. also get a sanguinary priest, they just make units a whole lot better.

HQ

elites

troops

I´m not sure if this list is that perfect for a beginner - he must be able to watch out for pie plates as the Sanguinary Guard will suffer most from them, and if they´re gone, the whole army is quite useless. Instead of Dante and the Sanguinary Guard at this pointlimit, I´d suggest a Sanguinary Priest w/Jp, a Reclusiarch, Captain or Librarian as HQ and something else, maybe a small squad of DC or Vanguard. Or another squad of RAS.

The Sanguinary Guard are very expensive and need some practice to work effectively, maybe that´s not the best thing for a total newbie. :P