Painting Blood Ravens

I'm a relatively newb-ish painter - dry brushing has been my bread and butter up until this point. I have a good sized army, all painted in a custom color scheme, but I now want to convert them to Blood Ravens. I'm currently in the process of stripping everything.

My question is thus: Does anyone have a relatively easy guide to painting Blood Ravens? I was planning on a Mechrite Red coat, then a thin read gore coat on top, followed by a Baal Red wash. For the shoulder pads, I was going to do a foundation paint coat of Khemri brown, with a layer of bleached bone on top.

Is this any good? Or can anyone correct any error I may make before a brush is applied?

Noob here as well.

I've tried to emulate the darker-than-blood-angels red by using a Dark Flesh base coat, followed by a number of really thin Blood Reds. While this is more cumbersome and will take more time, I think you can taylor the red to your taste (what with me being afraid of them looking like BAs with cream shoulderpads). Also, i made them pretty dirty-looking, using Badab Black wash.

After applying those thin reds, you can further highlight with some pure (not thinned) blood red or even maybe even add some yellow (not much) to taste.

As for the shoulderpads, I've used Tallarn Flesh as basecoat and a mix (again, to taste) of Tallarn and Bleached Bone, followed by the cruddy Badab Black.

I can't give any input on your receipe since I don't have any Mechrite Red.

Also, I'll be posting them in the Hall of Honor in a few days, I'll link you to the thread if you wish.

Do a quick search in the WIP forum. Most people tend to share their paint recipes at some point. :(

If you google "blood ravens tutorial" you get quite a lot of them too (there are a bunch different ones in relic's 40k forum alone).

Durus: Thanks! I went and searched the interwebs for an easy guide, and found this:

1. basecoat mechrite red. Total model coverage.

2. wash Badab Black. Again total model coverage.