How important are highlights and drilled barrels?

I ask the thread title for a few reasons:

1) I'm an abysmal painter. Being a minor perfectionist coupled with not having the necessary skill is annoying. If I spot something wrong with a mini i'm paiting, i'll try and make it better but I usually ruining another part in the process or finding hordes of other places that need work (sometimes only visible close up, but then also from far away once I know it's there).

2) I don't enjoy painting. It's tedious, I can play without the paint, it takes me far too much time to paint a single mini for skill reasons and the reason given in '1)'. At the end of it, I just don't get the sense of achievement. I look at it and think "It'll have to do..." no matter the quality. It could be GD standard (exceedingly unlikely) and I won't recognise it.

3) I don't like re-doing things. Ever. I'd rather leave a model on a shelf and never use it than have to strip the paint off, and i'm the same with other things. If I feel like a chapter of my story isn't write, i'll get so demoralised by having to re-write it, that it never looks good enough and I lose intrest. It's just who I am.

4) I don't see the point in barrel drilling. It's another thing I have to do along with mould lines and whatnot that doesn't help me in games, and I never notice them when i'm playing anyway. I don't get why it's seen as being important.

5) Skills like highlighting elude me. I can never grasp the finer skills. I can't mix paint, I don't know quantities when thinning, I can't highlight or build ups in colour. If it's not putting a brush into a pot and then onto the model, it's too complex, and similarly to drilling, I can't fathom why it's such a necessary talent.