Unusual Honor Guard Loadout

Captain Psycho

So I've been considering different loadouts for unit of honor guard for my Librarian and I got to thinking about one of the rarely mentioned (probably for good reason) options for HG - storm bolters. I started playing around with different options and here's what I came up with:

HQ: Libby with jump pack and storm bolter, shield and unleash rage powers

HG: 1 Sanguinary Novitiate, 4 Honor Guard with power weapon and storm bolter, entire squad has jump packs

The 5 man HG comes in at a whopping 237 points which is 2 points more than the ubiquitous 10 man ASM with PF and 2 x MG. At ~47 points per model, the first (and logical) reaction is "point sink" but consider what this unit can do: deep strike or move 12 inches and fire 10 S4 AP5 shots up to 24 inches away, protect itself with the libby's shield /san novitiate's FNP on the opponent's shooting phase, then move into assault position in the next turn, fire another 10 S4 AP5 shots in the shooting phase before assaulting with +1 initiative, +1 strength and re-rolls to hit with no armor saves. All of that bolter fire can whittle down a large GEQ unit while all of those power weapon attacks (including the libby's force weapon) will tear up MEQ units. The mobility of the jump packs and the range of the storm bolters means this unit can get out of trouble fast and still remain a threat on the next turn to any unit within 36 inches.

Compare that to a 5 man Sanguinary Guard unit at 200 points - for FC and FNP you have to add another 75 points for a Sang Priest (who can be singled out in CC), which increases the cost per model to ~46 points. Also, Angelus Bolters, while AP4, only have a range of 12 inches.