new to WH40k need advice on painting

houtex73

Greetings all,

Well as the title says, I am new to the hobby/game, and have a couple of painting questions. Today I assembled my first Rhino and a squad of initiates. Not to bad, tho the rhino did give me a headache getting the top piece to line up.

Now on to my questions:

1. Should I prime and paint the squads before attaching their arms and weapons, as to make it easier to detail the chest logo? If so, do i just prime and paint the arms on the sprues??

2. As far as the vehicles are concerned, the interior walls should i try and prime and paint those before fully assembling the model?

Now I know everyone has different ideas of how to do something, i am more just looking for the norm. I am by NO means a great painter (not yet, lots of practice ahead of me), but want to have a good table top finish.

Thank you for any help and advice you give me and I will take pics of my WIP once I get ready to do an assembly line of painting. Only 4 more crusader squads to put together, 2 rhinos and some LR's.

For a new player/painter, I would say:

1. No. go ahead and attach everything and paint it all together. It will save you boatloads of time and you can achieve a good table top quality by reaching in to paint what you can get to. From 18 inches away sitting on the table top, nobody will ever know that the aquila beneath the bolter is painted. Or, if you are really aiming for a better than norm paint job, leave off the shoulder pads and bolter. Use a bolter and some sticky tack to help line up the arms correctly and glue them in place. You will be able to reach everything really well and only have to attach the bolter and pads later.

2. It does help. A lot of people don't ever paint their interiors. I usually leave the top hatch removable, which helps a lot with trying to paint the inside after assembly. I glue the two jagged pieces together to be one piece and don't glue it to the hull (I magnetize it though).