Making my Chapter real

Ekim_Trub

Greetings brothers, although i have had an interest in 40k for over a decade now, i have almost no experience in modelling as i was more a fluff fan. However, in the New Year i look to rectify this travesty and put paint to model, hence my posting here.

I am looking for advice on which colours to use as highlights and which techniques to use to achieve the desired result.

Understandably, as a newbie, i won't be striving to attain a Golden Demon anytime soon, but i do want to achieve a good tabletop quality that wouldn't be offensive sat on display in the house.

My base cololurs are going to be Adeptus Battlegrey and Skull White, with Chaos Black and Scab Red eye lenses as shown below, i also plan to use Badab Black wash to add some depth.

spacemarine.jpg

Many thanks in advance, Trub.

I'd run with:

Prime black

Spray A. Battlegrey

Paint soft joints, gun metal and mouth grille boltgun metal (small brush)

Black wash all recesses and soft joints (normal brush)

Retouch A. Battlegrey, highlight with codex grey (use thin paint, build up the highlight in a couple of layers) (normal brush, small for final highlights if you're shaky)

Paint helmet, chest eagle and left arm Codex Grey (include recesses / panel lines) (normal brush)

Paint eyes black, then gem them (red, orange below, white spots at back corner, leave a slight black border) (small brush)

Paint helmet, chest eagle, and left arm Fortress Grey (leave recesses / panel lines dark) (normal brush)

Highlight helmet and left arm with Skull White (use thin paint, build up the higlight in a couple of layers). (normal brush, small for final highlights if you're shaky)

Paint gun casing chaos black, highlight with A. Battlegrey, or black/codex grey mix. Black wash on that to smooth it up.

It's a pretty easy scheme to paint if you take your time and work neatly.

First of all, thank you for taking the time to answer.

However, i have a few questions: