New Player Needs Help!

TheHarrower

Hey all,

Someone posted on my blog that they need help starting out with the Blood Angels. He already has some models and was looking to start an army. I'm not the best when it comes to list creation and what he has seems rather unorthodox. I figure the best way to welcome this new Battle Brother into the fold would be to post on here as everyone on B&C is always so helpful.

Here is his comment:

Hi I am new to all this and believe it or not this is my first comment I have posted in my life so don't laugh. I just started playing 40k and I have chosen the Blood Angels. I was wondering if you could help me field an army?

I have the following, 1 dreadnought 2 rhinos

1 imperial ship I modified into a Storm Raven

10 member assault squad,20 member tactical team,

5 terminators and 5 man deathsquad(non assault team) also Lemertes and Astroth and one seargent.

The problem is I put them together not careful with the weapons choice. Thank you for your help.

Anyone have any advice for our new Battle Brother?

Thanks all!

Well, I'd recommend he start small. Perhaps use the Lemartes figure as a Reclusiarch and fill in a list with 1 10 man assault squad and a 10 man tac squad. Add the dread, a rhino and perhaps the terminators to start. I wouldn't suggest starting right off with a Storm Raven, get a feel with smaller games. Then as he expands to larger games, mix in the DC (with Lemartes) in the Storm Raven and Astorath as HQ.

I support JamesI. This guy should start with a small army, 1k for the start. The units he has now show that he hadn't figure out the benefits and peculiarities of BA. This list is mostly vanilla with a few BA goodies. We don't even know what dread he took.

If he uses Lemmy as Reclusiarch, and take RAS, 2 Rhino Tacts, and Termies and plays a few games, he'll get to know BA disadvantages pretty fast, so he'll be able to define his own play style (DoA or mech) and then decide what army to build.