Appeal for Varnishing Advice

I recently started painting again after about ten years, and I'm having difficulty finding the right varnish to bring my models to completion.

In the past I used GW varnish, which after applying a few coats left my space marines well-protected and with a slight sheen which looked pretty cool. Unfortunately, I think GW have changed the formula for their varnish, which is now way too glossy. I painted a Khorne Berzerker with the stuff as a test and he looks as though he's been slathered in oil in preparation for the Mr Universe 41K competition. He is stupidly, blindingly glossy.

Next, I went out and bought some Testor's Dullcoate paint-on varnish. This product simply dulled the colours and caused them to run, which was even worse than the glossy effect. So my question is, before I go out and experiment with more varnish: what is the best matte or slightly glossy varnish for use over acrylic GW paints (which is what I have used, for better or worse, to paint my models)?

Your help will be greatly appreciated!

Testors Dullcoat Spray Varnish(Not the paint-on stuff). It gives a very flat finish, even over the stuff that is already glossy. Edit- Of course, if you want your models to be really survivable- give 'em a coat of a gloss varnish, THEN a thin coat of the Testors Dullcoat. The gloss will protect the mini from scratches, etc. The Dullcoat will make them "not shiny."

I personally like the Army Painter Matte Varnish, I have yet to find something that it cant take the shine off (even water effects although that wasn't entirely on purpose.....) It also seems to protect pretty well. I use it on all of my metal minis and I haven't seen any chipping on them yet.