Best Citadel Wash for Greys

Blacklight

Hi there all.

I'm just getting into the hobby and I've got a venerable dreadnought in the mail to me. I went to the local Hobby Lobby today and picked up some colors for the scheme I came up with for my DIY chapter. They didn't have any washes there unfortunately, so I'll have to most likely order some pots online. I'm planning to base coat the model in gray, with a slightly lighter gray for the main color. I'll be drybrushing metallic silver on the edges for a bit of wear, with brass and gold for accents like the archways. My big question is, which Citadel wash (or washes) should I aim for? I'm a beginner, like I said, and this is my first model ever. I've seen videos that use the washes and it seems like a very effective way to get a model shaded to some degree but I don't want to grab the wrong colors for the job. If I can I'll post some pictures once I get the base coat and the silver down.

Thanks for any tips!

Thanks. I figured Badab Black would be the way to go but I wanted to check before I ordered any. The paints I picked up aren't Citadel, they're Testors I believe. The Hobby Lobby near me doesn't carry 40k and I just needed paints to get cracking before I failed the painting challenge.

Cool, Badab Black it is.

And another quick question along the same lines... I'm an idiot, and failed to realize I ordered the old metal version of the venerable dread. I looked up some info on painting pewter and metal and the stuff I bought should still be fine, but when I do the wash is there anything I need to worry about or is it going to be basically the same method?

For metals, it might take one (or seven) coats to get on enough of a base for the paint to stick properly. It's a pain in the ass, really, since my giant Venerable Paperweight took me over two weeks to paint because the paint kept running off into corners. That was a while ago, and I've learned a lot since then, and it really pays to be patient.