Assault Cannon VS Cyclone Missile Launcher

the_carpethead

Curious...I'm a WH40K newb looking to start at Deathwing army. I'm seeing a lot of lists now with tons of CML and no AC's. What are the pros and cons of each? Also, I saw a list with a ven. dred. that has a plasma cannon, which I havent seen before, that still a viable option?

Thanks all,

Carpet

Oh, and what are some good Deathwing blogs out there, if any?

The biggest pro to the CML over the AC is simply the price/effectiveness.

DA recently got an FAQ which made our CML comparable to C:SM - ie. it is now 2 shot, where it was 1 shot before. However, the price remained unchanged at 20 points. The AC is 30. You can also take into consideration that pure Deathwing always lacked long range fire power. Now with a cheap 2 shot CML it can help tackle that problem.

This thread details unit composition and may have some insight on AC vs CML (if not, I know it has come up in another thread) - http://www.bolterandchainsword.com/index.p...=assault+cannon

Ah, here we are. In that thread, from this point on we start to discuss AC vs CML -

http://www.bolterandchainsword.com/index.p...t&p=2645438

Well, with the Errata update for the points it is more efficient to have the CMLs.

As to the venerable dread, which one is it? IE C:DA, or is it the forgeworld one?

Either way a plasma pie-plate is fun for tanks <_<

Well, with the Errata update for the points it is more efficient to have the CMLs.

As to the venerable dread, which one is it? IE C:DA, or is it the forgeworld one?

Either way a plasma pie-plate is fun for tanks :D

And MEQ infantry obviously (or lower, but could be see as overkill). I tend to see it as one of those situational and if the points allow it type purchases but I don't see why it's not viable.