Assault on Black Reach

Hail brothers! I've been collecting Tau for some time and decided to start a Space Marine Force based on my DIY chapter the Lords of Silence. So I decided to get the Assault on Black Reach starter set. Looking at it I have a couple of questions...

1. Just because they're shown painted like Ultramarines, does it mean they have the symbols or what not on the actual models? What I'm pretty much asking is if I would have to file off the symbols or are they on the accessories that come with the kit?

2. How do they come packaged? Usually GW shows how the stuff is packaged but didn't show it for this set. Is it just a bunch of plastic sprues?

3. Are all the models plastic? If so does the captain come in several pieces? I would like to add a helmet but if I can't I can't (don't even mention converting since I'm not that good with that type of stuff).

Anyone who can help me with these 3 questions would be much appreciated. Thanks for your time.

Welcome to the true path brother!

1 - No ultramarine symbols are on the figures, the only molded markings on them will be symbols denoting they're tactical marines on the shoulder pads.

2 - It is indeed a bunch of sprues, along with the rule book, templats and dice.

3 - All the models are multi part 'snap' together plastics - they'll mostly hold together pretty well even without applying glue (although i wouldn't recommend it :) ).

Hope that helps.

The Captain comes in two parts...a back half (which goes on the base) and his chest, face, and (if memory serves) his boltgun arm.

The Dread is the only way to currently get a MM dread, but annoyingly his arm socket/join is a different size from the standard dread arm socket/joints...so you'll have to cut it up and use custom pinning and/or magnets if you want to swap other dread arms on to him some day. (Not a big deal.)