Howdy ya'll

roooooot

I figure it's about time I stopped lurking and got a wee bit more involved.

I'm pretty new to wargaming. I played a Dark Elf army back in my high school days (going to date myself and admit it was the mid-90s) and scoffed vigorously when one of my playing partners switched from his Skaven army to 40K with all it's silly sci-fi and "marines in space" in big armor and comically oversized guns and all that. Funny how all that changed...

So here I am, I picked up AoBR after much lurking on the GW site and various forums and with the assistance of my wonderfully tolerant gf* realized it was high time to start building a proper army. I figured I'd start with Ultramarines since I had the starter 40K paint kit with a combat squad of them, and it was easy to teach myself painting using a popular army choice. Plus, you know, they are pretty awesome. Soon I will be harassing people with army list suggestions, and bombarding the WIP forums to see how my skills are coming along. Painting and collecting things are my passion right now, thanks to the interwebs I feel my painting skills are much better than I expected after picking it up again a decade later, but I still have an absolute ton to learn.

Between painting and collecting, I've been working my way through the fiction. Despite my high school scoffing, I've always had a bit of a soft spot for the lore of the 40k universe. I've been moving pretty fast through the Horus Heresy series, and if anyone has any suggestions I am all ears.

So anyways, hi!

- Loukas

*She played a ton of AoBR games with me despite hating all things sci-fi while I was learning the rules and really enjoyed it but only on the stipulation that she gets to be 1st world trained army vs piecemeal insurgents; this was the most viable metaphor I could come up with, but also made me have to play as those filthy greenskins a lot. She really does not like sci-fi.

Hail and welcome, brother.