New to 40K - Need advice

Jakep001

I am new to 40K and have read the rule book but need some clarification. I will have a lot of questions over time so bare with me.

1. In the Assult Phase "Units are not allowed to assault if:

a. "They shot rapid fire weapons or heavy weapons in the shooting phase"

Does that mean that anyone in the squad other than those who fired rapid fire or heavy weapons in the shooting phase can go into close combat in base to base contact in that turn and the remainder just wait until the next turn? :)

If I had 4 rapid fire members in the squad and only 2 fired in the shooting phase of that turn can the 2 who didn't shoot assault in the assault phase? Likewise with a heavy weapon:unsure:

No, as the squad moves and fires as one bieng, that is, they all fire, or none do. You cannot elect to have individuals fire separately, and even if you could, models are not allowed to move out of squad coherency, and the unit has to charge at the same time, so they could not choose to assault a unit if any of them have rapid-fired or fired heavy weapons.

Ok

With my Army on the table lets say I have 10 squads.

1. IN THE MOVEMENT PHASE

I can move some of them or all of them.

2. IN THE SHOOTING PHASE

I may shoot some of my squads or all of them, and

3. IN THE ASSAULT PHASE

If close enough the squads I haven't shot in the shooting phase can assault but the others can't.

Sound OK? :)

Ok

With my Army on the table lets say I have 10 squads.

1. IN THE MOVEMENT PHASE

I can move some of them or all of them.

2. IN THE SHOOTING PHASE

I may shoot some of my squads or all of them, and

3. IN THE ASSAULT PHASE

If close enough the squads I haven't shot in the shooting phase can assault but the others can't.

Sound OK? :unsure:

1) yes

2) yes