Stubborn Marine Battle Damage Request.

Ironbug

Now, first things first,

I am aware there are battle dmage guides, but I'd like a real feel of stubbornly walking through a torrent of fire kinda feel.

Now, again, Im gonna reference the 3rd Ed BRB with the big black and white image of the Marine, True-grit-ing his bolter, armor chipped and cracked.

Now, thats a pic enough to get ANYONE into Marines.

The thing is, I'm an average painter, and I don't want to carve off bits of my marines, or ruin them with my amateur efforts in painting. So, are there simple, but effective things I could do really?

Anyone got a couple of sneaky tips or ideas that'd go down a treat?

Thankyou :)

If you're working with metal models, battle damage is rather simple to achieve. Paint up the model to your best standard and then take a file and file the paint off the "battle damaged" edges and make scratches across plates until you think he's suitably messed up looking.

You don't want to take bits off, and you don't want to paint. What does that leave us with?

My suggestion is to try painting. If you thin your paints (and you should be) it will be easy to cover up anything which does not look right.

Step 1) Do small splotches of black, concentrate on the edges and raised parts.

Step 2) Cover the black in silver, leaving just a tiny amount of the black showing at the edges. (It is easier to do than you might think, you don't have to be perfect)

I really think you should try, it is the only way your going to get better.

Reference pics are also good. Real life military equipment or used industry. Not to mention tons of battle damaged mini pics to inspire you both within these forums and outside.

Here is a fairly dire job from me. The paint jobs here are 10+ years old. (I like to think I am a better painter these days :P) The one in the middle has some of my first battle damage ever done. If I can post this, you can at least attempt your battle damage ;)