Relic Contemptor

Captain Semper

I kinda like the Land Raider Proteus, looks like it's missing the heavy bolters though. I'm sure I could find a way to jam them in somewhere. Those old models make me wish I started playing decades ago.

It has a multy-melta instead.

Well now those guys who sold/trashed their old stuff are hacking their hands off i wager.

Same happened with the old armor marks...

Hmm, I wasn't much of a fan of the original models - the FW versions are subtly different, which is all to the good. They look much better than the originals.

That said, I still have my original 'dome top' predator.

I think the difference is the refinement that has happened from the originals until now. The tweaks are very subtle, but they are there, and it is probably due to the material, modelers either being more "refined" themselves or just new modelers with more refined techniques. The same can be said of the older armor in the form of the Mk6, the older models, while looking similar, just don't look as sleek and predatory to me, plus the models themselves have some articulation, etc. Also, the FW Mk4 also looks slightly better than the GW Mk4 pieces.

Just saw the new stuff in FW Apocalypse second edition, and I'm sad to say there is no DA pattern Contemptor. There is a BA one and a SW one but no DA one... There is a Mortis though. Oh well... And there is a close up on the torso of the Relic Contemptor and it looks even better!

Link here: Apocalypse 2

@ Bryan Blair: what do you mean FW Mk4 looks slightly better than GW Mk4? :P

Just saw the new stuff in FW Apocalypse second edition, and I'm sad to say there is no DA pattern Contemptor. There is a BA one and a SW one but no DA one... There is a Mortis though. Oh well... And there is a close up on the torso of the Relic Contemptor and it looks even better!

Link here: Apocalypse 2

@ Bryan Blair: what do you mean FW Mk4 looks slightly better than GW Mk4? :P