Tips for a returning enthusiast

Aceripper

Hi, glad to be a part of what seems like a well run, friendly forum.

After about 8-9(!) years out of the game (due to school and what not) I've decided to revisit the old universe I once loved so much, and as such I am classifying myself as a complete beginner again,

So I was wondering, (if this is the wrong place, please direct me to the correct one) if anyone would be kind enough to answer a few basic questions.

1 - after so long, I'm sure there have been rule changes, and I'm assuming these are covered in the new rule book, but is there anything I should look for/know about when choosing my new army that isn't covered in the day to day rules?

2 - painting, I was never any good (being only 12 at the time) but now I am looking to really perfect the art, on a limited budget what is the best way to get started, should I only ever buy official paints and brushes?

3 - the Tyranid army was always my favourite to play, has anything major changed?

4 - and lastly, with no experience, none of my old models, what should i do to get back into the game, should start by getting the new ork/ultramarine starter kit? Or should i start building an army I actually want to play?

I know it's alot but I am planning on keeping up regular posts here, just hoping I can get a few tips to start me off again!

Thanks ;-)

Being a re-starter myself I wouldnt want to comment on most of what you're asking because you're obviously wanting advice from a vet, but I will chip in and say unless you're one of those people that will enjoy having multiple armies you can add to at any time, you should probably start with an army you do actually want to play, otherwise the passion just wont be there.