Highlighting methods

Hi all. I'm new to the B&C forums, so first post :) . I've been a lurker here for about a year though :D .

Anyway, I had a few questions about highlighting.

I know about (and have done for quite a while) edge highlighting, but I'm what you would call a "dirty" painter. In other words I often use less perfect ways of achieving results and often use things like washes and selective drybrushing. In contrast to my friend who has insane brush control and paints perfectly the whole time. You can watch his models take shape meanwhile mine usually don't really turn out until the final few steps (especially with fantasy minis). I have good brush control but edge highlighting takes me insane amounts of time because I don't quite have the brush control I need to do it perfect most of the time. So I have to slow down a LOT to do it well. So since edge highlighting takes me so long I was looking for alternatives that, while they may take just as long as is does for me to edge highlight, would produce the same or better results and be more in line with my style.

I'm not looking for the "easy way out" so to speak, just something that is more in line with how I paint.

I've watched DV8 feather minis here http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TyigagXfGEQ...feature=related at around 5:34. I saw him do that, and said to myself, "that looks like it would take almost less time than is does me to edge highlight, and produces better resluts." I went to try it and was having a hard time figuring out what consistency of paint to use and how wet my brush should be.

So, if you guys would be so kind, could you fill me in on other highlighting techniques and maybe explain them or provide articles or vidoes that do?

Thanks for your time. Hopefully I can start a project log soon so you guys can see some of my painting.

Captain jOE

Airbrush highlighting is super magical cheating highlighting. Especially on marines. Seriously, I almost feel bad using one.