Face Frustration

Greetings Brothers,

I have been painting now for a couple of months on and off. Kind of thrown myself into the deep end and wanted to start in the right vein by thinning my paint and learning techniques from the off. Only problem, I do not have the skill base to start with most of these and get totally demoralised when painting.

1. Thinning paints: I have a mixture of GW and Vallejo Game Colour, from the start I can tell that the GW paints are a lot thicker and need a good amount of thinning, for the most part I can handle that. The problem arises with the VGC. I have watched endless amounts of youtube tutorials and read anything relating to painting miniatures, but as to be expected there is no two same ways to thin. What I would ideally like some input on is the paint application. I have got my paints to semi-skimmed milk consistancy and try to apply. It tends to pool a lot and I dont think it gives a good coverage, I understand that several layers might be required but is this right?

2. Thinning paint mix: This is a horribly general question, I have tried endless formulae for thinning, typically setting for 10 drops water to 1 drop Liquitex Flow-aid, This leads to a really bubbly mixture that doesnt seem entirely right. Also, in my dropper bottle, this mix doesnt look how I imagined it from seeing online tutorials and such. Any help with that is appreciated.

3. Faces: I am slowly ripping my hair out over this. I have painted the eye socket area with a darker colour, beasty brown and then I apply the white for the eye leaving a small area around the edges. This part works fine. My painting is a bit ragged being a novice and the brown went a bit far. Now, trying to cover up the brown is the hard bit as this ties in with the first point. The lighter flesh, elf flesh, barely covers the brown, and after about 3 layers, it just looks like the model is really dirty now and not finishing very nicely.