First Army

Mezillious

Hey guys, I'm new to Warhammer, been observing for quite some time but this is my first army.

So I have a small force of Space Marines (1 x 10 man tactical squad, 1 x 5 man devastator squad, 1 x Captain, 1 x Apothecary, 1 x Librarian - working on an assault squad next) who I am going to paint up as Raven Guard. I have a few questions about heraldry and how seriously players take the history as I haven't played or seen a game played yet.

1st question:

I want these guys to be 3rd company because I like the look of the black armour with red trim. However, the following two pieces of information seem to me to be contradictory.

"Each Company has a unique colour that its members wear, commonly on the shoulder plate rims..."

http://wh40k.lexicanum.com/wiki/Codex_Asta...Company_Colours

"The right shoulder guard trim denotes the type of Space Marine. Green is for tactical squads, red is for assault squads and yellow is for devastators. The left kneepad displays the company number."

http://wh40k.lexicanum.com/wiki/Raven_Guard#.Tr-usz25PN0

My first question is, since the Raven Guard also have symbols on their right shoulder pad which denotes squad type, do people use the shoulder trim as well for this purpose? I would like to be able to paint all of my marines from the same company the same colour scheme which means all would have black armour, a white aquilla, company chapter icon on the left shoulder pad, squad type icon on the right shoulder pad and red shoulder trims to denote 3rd company. Would people have a problem with this? What difference does it make if they do?

2nd Question:

The captain of the Raven Guard 3rd Company is Kayvaan Shrike. The captain model I have (from Assault on Black Reach) is not Kayvaan Shrike. Does this matter? Can I say it is him in different armour? Again, what difference does this make?

3rd Question: