How far would the Dark Angels go?

Vincent val Munshin

I'm relatively new to Warhammer (I got seriously interested a couple years ago, and really started looking at it within the last year and a half). I've chosen a Dark Angels/ Raven Guard mixed geneseed chapter. I want to make this coflicted bloodline a major part of the backstory of my chapter, but I'm curious about just how far the Dark Angels would be willing to go to keep their secret.

Would they, for instance, destroy a company of loyalist marines from another chapter to preserve their secret? I am of the belief they would, but I wanted to turn the idea over to more experienced Dark Angels fluff masters before I got too far in my writing.

stop, first issue is the mixed geneseed. Its impossible, based on the science of wharhammer 40k to mix geneseed. Not to spoil your idea or anything, just that genetically speaking, you cannot splice Corax and The Lion together like that. For starters, you imply you know better than the Emperor, a big no no.

For more advice on creating a chapter, in suggest you come over to the Liber Astartes forum

On how far would they go is a matter of personal opinion.I don't believe they would kill brother marines unless soemthing very dire happened, but some may think it's possible.

On your chapter I do see a "flaw" though. The mixed geneseed means they wouldn't be Unforgiven, true Sons of the Lion, thus privy to the secret.

DA only share their secret with Sucessors they trust 200%.

See, my original idea was that they were being overseen by a Dark Angels Chaplain, and while working in conjunction with a Raven Guard Company, they discovered one of the Unforgiven. Ultimately, they destroy the Raven Guard company to protect the secret, thus proving their loyalty to the Dark Angels. Which, I suppose still works to prove their loyalty, but I'll have to remove the mixed geneseed if that's impossible.