Razor/lasback conversion

Greeting Brothers,

At the moment im using the age old "stick the forward facing twinlinked heavy bolter from a landraider on a rhino" as a standin for a dedicated razorback. now after finding two inbuild rhinos ina box in me "mancave" ive desided one should be made as a dedicated razorback but im not all thay keen on forking out for the conversion kits from forgeworld. yes there awesome and look the bizz but im a skinflint lol. what im tempted to do is take the spare las cannon wielding marines that i had build and have them braced and firing from out of the rhinos top hatch. just wondering if any one has done this before and how they managed it??

Thanks

I've never done this before, but I have seen it done, and considered how I would (will) do this kind of idea. I'd tackle it something like...

Build a 'box' out of sheet plastic that will sit inside the Rhino, and be attached to the inside ceiling. Try to keep the box slightly larger than the 'lip' of the hatch, to keep is as hidden as possible. Depending on how deep you make the box, you can have control of just how much Marine is exposed out of the top of the Rhino. If you take your time and do it right (and have some spare Rhino hatch doors) you can even make the Marines removable. That way you can close the hatch doors (Read: put your spare 'closed doors' on) when you want it to be a normal Rhino.

Since a Rhino as two fire-points, be sure that people understand that it is a 'counts-as' Razorback. This could be easily confused with passengers shooting from a normal Rhino's fire-points.

Greeting Brothers,