A new Unforgiven

Frejdruk

Greetings, brothers Unforgiven!

I decided to create this thread as an introduction of sorts, though it might evolve into a painting log :P I'm new to the unforgiven, and still rather new to 40k as a whole. I started off buying some marines, they are what really drew me to 40k after all, but after recently reading the dark angel codex I really liked the background, and thus the call of the robed marines was too strong! I've already painted a few units (well two completed really, but a few more in various stages of progress...), so I decided to keep my colour scheme and simply decide that my chapter is of dark angel descent.

I hope it'll work good enough; the codex stated that most unforgiven chapters use dark and brooding colours (though that's a rule already broken by the official successors), and I'm unsure if that really is a suitable adjective. I use blue too, am I commiting a cardinal sin here? :P They aren't to be viewed as sons of Guilliman! With the colour scheme, and a robe for the dark angel-style, they'll look like the image below. Does it look like a passable unforgiven?

spacemarine.jpg

I'm not 100% sure on the red robes, but I can't think of a colour that would work better. Beige/bone coloured is out, of course, but brown maybe?

I was hoping I could get some input on two other modelling-related issues too:

1. The use of the dark angel-specific bits for successors. All chapters can't be using wings and swords for their chapter icons, surely? I realise that it boils down to that I can do what I want with my models, but how are other successor-players dealing with this? Excuse it as a tribute to their parent chapter, or a nod to the Secret Legion part of their background perhaps? ;)