Marshal Crimor's Endless Crusade

Hello brothers. Today I took a break from painting to finish modeling part of my close combat crusader squad. I included a neophyte standard bearer modeled with a chainsword and sidearm (so he should be usable in games). I am pretty new to this hobby but I am really enjoying all the customization that a 40k templar force allows. Enjoy! And let me know what you guys think.

Crusader squad expansion:

gallery_67568_7471_115485.jpg

The neophytes - I really dislike the standard SM scout model, so you may notice that my neophytes recieve a lot of attention in the customization department...

gallery_67568_7471_27517.jpg

Close-up of the standard bearer. In terms of fluff, my crusader squad preserved the bones of their former Marshal, along with pieces of his armor after a great crusade and before each battle the Templar Initiates elect one neophyte who has proven himself the most faithful and determined to carry the fallen Marshal into battle with them--in honor of the fallen Marshal's glorious deeds.

gallery_67568_7471_127335.jpg

Close-up of the initiate equiped with a flamer weapon. I am really, really looking forward to depicting some sort of heretic or witch burning on this banner. I know other weapons may perform better on the table top, but nothing says witch-hunt quite like a zealous warrior carrying a flame-thrower.

gallery_67568_7471_91735.jpg

Very nice models, brother!

I am particularly fond of your standard bearer neophyte. Have you thought of counting him as a cenobyte servitor? I made a "scout with standard" to be one of my cenobyte but this model so outclasses him that I think I'll just field him as a neophyte (swaping the standard for a pistol which I already can do).

Can you tell me what the bits you used to make this model are? It looks awesome and I'd love to make ~3 similar ones to be my cenobytes.

I like the models and the conversions.

Have you considered using black primer as your base coat vs grey primer?