Blood Angels in 6th

JAMOB

I have created this thread for the purpose of discussing and analyzing changes in the Blood Angels units based on the new rules. I will eventually do all units, but for now if its not covered here see the tactica by Archon Dan made for 5th. I will be structuring this like his, and will basically be taking and adapting what he wrote based on the new rules. I've been playing for ~8 years, but started 5th only ~8 months ago (i was living under a rock with 3rd) and 6th when it came out.

And They Shall Know No Fear

This is one of the most useful rules in the codex, as it allows any squad to be salvaged an kill points to be denied. Basically they can always regroup, and automatically do. They are then able to move 9/15 inches (standard infantry vs jump troops). In addition they cannot be overrun.

Combat Squads

This is a useful little rule that allows for the splitting of any and all 10 man squads into 2 5 man squads, dividing weaponary as you wish. This gives you more scoring units, the option of splitting fire (on Devs, etc), but also gives up more kill points in situations where this applies. 5 man squads are much easier to kill, so even if it is an objective game be wary before splitting.

Descent of Angels

While less useful now that a Jumper list can not be placed completely in reserve, this rule lessens the scatter by D6 rather than 2D6, making suicide meltas etc much more likely to land.

Another useful part is that you can reroll failed reserve rolls for units with this rule, making your army less likely to come on piece-wise. It does not, however, allow you to delay reserves by rerolling successful rolls.

The Red Thirst

This rule used to be why I liked BA, as it gave them free DC rather than just rules...

But now 3 editions later it is rather different. You get fearless and furious charge, both of which are extremely useful, but it is only a 1/6 chance without Astorath (who makes it 1/2) of getting the rules for each unit.