Night Fighting duration?

Kastor Krieg

OK, question mostly to English native speakers, but everyone's welcome to chime in. Just state please whether English is your first language, because I think there's some strange logical quirk here going on (I'm a professional translator / editor). Here's something I can't get across to most of the guys on the Polish 40k Forum and either my instinctive interpretation is wrong or it's the language barrier for everyone else.

http://img571.imageshack.us/img571/5585/nightho.png

Q: How long does Night Fighting last, if the 4+ is rolled before play?

A: The rules come into effect in Game Turn 1 (per 1st paragraph) and last until the end of the game (per 2nd paragraph).

Now, my Polish friends are adamant that the entry says explicitly that "is in effect during Game Turn 1" means "is in effect only in Game Turn 1" and that if it was rolled on Turn 1, the 2nd and further game turns are "day".

My reading is, instead, that the "ON" trigger of the night is described as is, either rolled before game and turn 1 or during the game, on 4+, from 2nd turn onwards, until the end of the game, which is the only "OFF" trigger in the text. The "is in effect during game turn 1" does not read to me as "isn't any further" at all.

Of course, sloppy GW wording that potentially could be read two ways, as always. But how do YOUR English speaking groups play this, guys? How have you seen that played on tournaments, with English-native orgs? I'm very curious.

English is my first language, and I would bet it's supposed to be the way you interpret it.

Literally, all it says is that it's in effect in Game Turn 1. It's silent on the matter of subsequent turns. NOthing in the language implies that ONLY Game Turn 1 was intended.

There IS an ambiguity there, but any ambiguity in what was intended by the first paragraph is made pretty clear by the NEXT paragraph.

So yeah, you're right.

Native English speaker here.