How would you set up two Tactical Squads?

Cessna

I know, it depends on a lot of things...

Here's my story.  I started playing 40K an embarrassing number of years ago, but stopped playing for a long time.  Work, school, kids, no time, all the usual excuses.

Recently I've returned.  After shopping around for a while I decided to go with Blood Angels.  I've got a big ol' pile of models left over from the last time I played the game - I blew the dust off the boxes and started building.

I've built 20 Assault Marines, some Decastators with Missile Launchers, and a pile of Death Company.  (Old metal Death Company, for that matter.) 

I'd like to build two squads worth of Tactical Marines.  I've got enough models and weapons for this.  But I've been out of the game for a long time, and am not up to speed on what works and what doesn't these days.

Can you help me out here?

I am a big fan of plasma guns and cannons on tac squads these days. BA get a plasma cannon for 5pts which is a darn good deal.

Since you have two units to build, I would do a flamer and missile launcher in the other for simple utility. Not sure how your assault squads are kitted out, but melta should be covered there and some templates for horde armies would be nice on the other squad.

I am sure others will chime in with some more suggestions, but I think that is a good start.

As you said, "it depends".  But assuming you want two tac squads to provide a defensive/objective scoring core - my suggestion would be:

Missile Launcher/Plasma Cannon and Flamer.  350pts for up to 4 scoring defensive units capable of damaging a good cross-section of enemies.

I run two tacticals with plasmagun/plasma cannon combo in Rhinos. I like to combat squad them, leaving the cannons in Rhinos behind an ADL as a bunker whilst the other combat squads move to take mid field objectives.

They are supported by an Assault squad, attack bike squadron, a Stormraven and some death company.