Building Competitive/Semi-Competitive Lists at 1,000 Points?

Guest TheoryCraft

Guest TheoryCraft

Good evening everyone,

First time poster here.  As a quick frame of reference, I've played 40k on and off for the past 15 years or so.  I would not call myself elite or, conversely, a complete noob; I don't do min-max lists but I have been successful, winning several local gaming store tournaments.

Anyways, I am having the worst time trying to build a competitive or even semi-competitive Dark Angels list at the 1,000 pt. level.  Maybe I just have a warped sense of points values in light of the fact that I am a 15 year IG player, but I cannot for the life of me fit everything in that I want to a low point level Dangel list. 

Here is what I see as major problems for Dangels at lower point levels:

1.  Little/less mobility in comparison to most armies.  (Problematic for scoring, especially with janky Troops choices!)

2.  Low model count.

3.  Expensive models with mandatory frill add-ons that jack up the price of models unnecessarily (I'm looking at you, Hit and Run and teleport homers!).

I anticipate at least a few responses saying something to the effect of, "well not everyone can fit everything into 1,000 points!"  Again, maybe I'm just biased primarily being an IG player, but it feels so much worse for Dangels than other armies.  Three of the major archetypes of Dangels (Ravenwing, Deathwing, Triplewing) are either not competitive (Deathwing, for the most part) or just too expensive at 1,000 points (Azrael costs nearly a quarter of your army for a single buffing HQ... sad day).  I've heard Ravenwing has mixed results, doing very well in some match-ups and horribly in others.  Another major archetype I've heard about is/was the PFG list with Land Raiders - again, sadly, that list is too expensive for 1,000 points, and that doesn't even include the fact that the PFG was nerfed.