Appearance of Tactical Models and Army Customization

Guest TheoryCraft

Guest TheoryCraft

Good morning everyone,

So I have a bit of an odd request for feedback.  Long story short, I don't like the appearance of Tacticals - to me, they just look pretty "blah," especially when you are playing Speez Muhreen wars (i.e. SpaM v. SpaM armies).  I was wondering what kind of advice or feedback people have to spruce up the appearance of Dark Angels tacticals.  I'm thinking more than just painting schemes - I'm referring to adding/changing customized bits, using different models, etc.

For me personally, I started painting Veteran squads since I use them in my SoD gunline list and came to realize that I am completely in love with their appearance.  To me, the long flowing robes with recessed power armor is the quintessential look for Dark Angels.  The reason I bring this up is because I am considering using Veterans as my Tactical Squads, and then perhaps performing additional customization to make my Veterans.  Has anyone ever heard of this strategy?  Do you think there would be any problem in tournaments running a full army of robed models as Tacticals?

Purchase a few of the Dark Angels upgrade sprues - they've got all kinds of cool things on them to spruce up your RAF marines - censers, spruced up backpacks, and a lot more that will give your units some nice variety.

If I had the disposable cash and skill I would have a Mark IV power armor army.

http://www.forgeworld.co.uk/Images/Product/AlternativeFW/xlarge/mkIVass2.jpg

AND/OR add different veteran markings on each of them. Like Worthy Painting did.

It won't let me post a youtube link, so you'll have to look for them yourselves, but trust me.. they look awesome!