New to Shading

EvilWizard

So I am new to using shades and was wondering what I should go with for my 1k Sons army.  I am not using any different color schemes or anything I just don't know what color shade would work well with that.  I was just going to use Citadel Shade since some of my friends have used them quite a bit but they are Nid and Blood Angel players and have never really used them on a really blue army before. 

I was thinking of using something like a Coelia Greenshade but don't know if that would give it a really odd look or if that's more of the chaosy thing to do. 

I'd avoid the shades for the metallics if you can, sparinly use nuln oil to add definition to the edges, I tend to use dark browns to shade golds.  Coelia will give ou a nice turquoise effect as a glaze, but isn't really meant for shading blue. Drakenhoff is nice but definitely thin it down using lahmian medium, and you will also see it doesn't add that much depth to the blue if it is deep - use purple and black added to the mix..

I use Seraphim Sepia and it looks great on gold, did you guys have a poor experience using brown washes on your golds or something?

One of the best gold tutorials I've seen is from From the Warp and it recommends a brown basecoat with washes of Devlan Mud and different golds depending on how warm and rich you want the tone.

I personally use the metallic bronze/gold base from Citadel, then my gold of choice, then Seraphim Sepia and it looks great. I don't see the point in using a black wash or some kind of mixed wash that contains black in it. That sounds like it'd be terrible as it makes the gold look filthy instead of simply adding shadow.

Here's what it looks like with just metallic base, gold, and Seraphim Sepia:

http://s27.postimg.org/cbu65fnoj/photo_1.jpg