How old are successor chapters?

geektom

Hey all- I hope this topic works here in the PCA forum.

I am looking to bring some variety to the tactical squads of my successor chapter (link below if you are interested) and I was thinking about getting some MK IV stuff from FW.

But then I realized that MK IV was before the Heresy, correct? I am a 40k noob, but the way I understand it, the splitting into successor chapters happened after the HH.

Would that mean that my army should only have MK VI and later equipment?

Is it possible that founding chapters (White Scars in my case) would have gifted artifacts and armor to a successor chapter? Or would Vets have moved over to the new Chapter?

I am also thinking of creating a jet bike for my commander (using the Moondrakken rules), so that is another reason why I was asking.

Thanks for any and all responses!

Hey all- I hope this topic works here in the PCA forum.

I am looking to bring some variety to the tactical squads of my successor chapter (link below if you are interested) and I was thinking about getting some MK IV stuff from FW.

But then I realized that MK IV was before the Heresy, correct? I am a 40k noob, but the way I understand it, the splitting into successor chapters happened after the HH.

Would that mean that my army should only have MK VI and later equipment?

Some prefer the "newer" marks (VI to VIII), but many covet the older ones (Mark III to Mark V). Many successors gift older marks to Marines who have a high standing within the Chapter, or to those who have shown to be the best of the best.

Is it possible that founding chapters (White Scars in my case) would have gifted artifacts and armor to a successor chapter? Or would Vets have moved over to the new Chapter?

I am also thinking of creating a jet bike for my commander (using the Moondrakken rules), so that is another reason why I was asking.

Thanks for any and all responses!