el shafan's miniatures

el shafan

Hi all, this is my first post here on the Bolter and Chainsword!

EDIT: sorry for changing the title, I just thought i'd better put all my miniatures in one thread.

I painted Chief Librarian Ezekiel of the Dark angels for an upcoming competition, comments and criticism are welcome smile.png

gallery_78749_9386_301375.jpg

This is the first GW model i've painted in quite some time. Even though it's an old miniature (metal, not finecast!), I think it's a great sculpt. The banner and shoulder pad are also my first real attempts at freehand, and while I think they're ok, I really have a lot to learn.

gallery_78749_9386_54336.jpg

gallery_78749_9386_135551.jpg

Terminator Librarian, painted a few months ago (before Ezekiel):

gallery_78749_9386_167404.jpg

gallery_78749_9386_307801.jpg

Thanks guys!  :)

@ Sanguine_Knight: Regarding the freehand, i'm a professional illustrator and this is VERY different from my usual work. So i know i have the drawing and painting skills, but applying them to such a small scale was much harder and more time consuming than i thought.

First off - he's excellent. The free-hand is top notch and better than I can do (which pretty much applies to the whole mini! ;)).

Please feel free to disregard the following - it's mostly personal preference.

I would imagine that the banner might have some sort of border. The free-hand, colour transition and so on is excellent, but I feel that there is something missing and that might be a border to really draw the viewer in to the image.

I think the red on the sword, whilst very well-done, distracts the eye and rather spoils the composition. A more muted colour might be appropriate (or how about NMM?).

Those are my only comments and this is still far better than what I can achieve, so what do I know? :P

Thanks Gillyfish!