Strength Capped at 10?

Fatespinner

I'm still relatively new to the game, having only been playing for a few months now, but after a game against a more experienced player I am finding that perhaps my understanding of some rules is flawed.  My army is from the Chaos Space Marines codex and, in particular, I field a Maulerfiend for tearing up enemy vehicles and structures.  The Maulerfiend's statline states that it has a strength of 6 and it uses power fists for its primary close combat weapons.  Since the Maulerfiend is a walker, to my understanding it ignores the 'Unwieldy' trait normally associated with the fists and acts normally on Initiative 3.  What I did not understand correctly, according to my opponent, was that there is some hard maximum cap on the strength value of an attack (namely: S10).  Is this true?  The rules for a power fist states that it is user's strength x 2.  Since the Maulerfiend has S6, I was under the impression that its attacks resolve at S12, making it a supremely capable anti-vehicle unit as well as providing the ability to insta-kill T6 or lower units.

Was my opponent correct?  We could not find a rule explictly limiting the maximum strength value of an attack, but he insists that the strength of an attack can never exceed 10.  I would like to know if this is the case, because at S10, the Maulerfiend is significantly less awesome.

EDIT: For the record, we are still playing with 6th Edition rules.

It's in the rulebooks under attributes and stat lines.

Doesn't that only limit the strength value of a model, though?  The strength of the model is less than 10 (it's 6), but the strength of the ATTACK ITSELF would be double that, no? Otherwise what's the point in having something with S5+ using a power fist?

Let me attempt to answer this for you, even though 6th is now finished.