Rites of Judgement

MontyBob

This is my first attempt at fan-fiction/minor literary flatulence.  All C&C is sensual.

---------------------------------------------------------------------

It always begins in the darkness.

“What is our purpose?”

“To purge our shame through the blood of the Fallen”

“LIES! You know nothing of our purpose”.  I cannot see the Chaplain; he is close enough that his roar of indignation nearly deafens me.  It could be any of them.  I know Asmodai was supposedly with a crusade fleet, but I do not know how long the Watchers have tested my faith.  I do not know how long I have meditated on my purpose, the Chapter's purpose. 

---------

I had been summoned to the Hall of Judgement.  A mace, bespiked and a slight mist forming around it, coupled with a storm shield waited for me, borne by two Watchers.  A cunning artifice lit only the wargear that I would take up leaving the rest of the chamber in pitch darkness.  I knew that there was only two ways this would end – pass the trial or vanish into the depths of the Rock.  Belial stepped forwards, his face cowled.  Daring to glimpse in the shadows I could see a black sword, the Book of Salvation and the Blade of the Corswain among the observers.  My vows were to be in front of the greatest of the Chapter.  When I swore the oaths that bound me to the Shame I had declared my honour forfeit.  All I had was a refusal to further besmirch the honour of the chapter.  I could not refuse this challenge. 

Belial raised his hand and the chamber grew darker.  A bell tolled in the distance.

Sapphon stepped forward to the right of Belial, behind the two Watchers who held the Shield and Mace.  He was without his mask as he began the rite.  “The strength of my arm shall be for nought if my Brothers die in shame.  By the holders of the seven keys I will take up the quest”.

I knelt “I will”.