A few questions to help a noob.

Ever since FW released 30k I've been interested in picking it up but I've been waiting for my 1st legion to be released. For months I've been drooling over the awesome Adeptus Mechanicum models and I finally broke down and got some thallax cohorts. I love em so now I'm hooked. I have 3 thallax cohorts (1 with MM) and a knight titan. I just ordered 9 more thallax, a titan techpriest, and 2 Castallax (one of each) to start my army. I've played 40k since RT but im totally new to 30k, so any help would be greatly appreciated.

Now for my questions.

1. Can you play 40k armies fairly using the 30k AM rules?

2. Could I take my AM army as allies for my 40k IG army? (Im thinking Skitarii) Or is that just cheese?

3. Could a modified techmarine be used as an archmagos?

4. What are the "must have" models for a solid competitive army?

5. Which one of the HH books has the best rules for AM?

I don't really want to buy all the books. Just one for my AM and when it gets released the one with my DA in it.

1. So far in 40k games i've played it's been the Knight that gets the complaints of being possibly OP not the Mechanicus force alongside it.

3. I use a modified techmarine for one of my HQ's. But when they release the model on the Abeyant I will be first in line to buy it...

Oh it'll be a race for first in line i suspect... though as i can't get to any events you may have an advantage. Otherwise it depends on timezones and when they put the pre-order link up.

1. Can you play 40k armies fairly using the 30k AM rules?

2. Could I take my AM army as allies for my 40k IG army? (Im thinking Skitarii) Or is that just cheese?

3. Could a modified techmarine be used as an archmagos?

4. What are the "must have" models for a solid competitive army?

5. Which one of the HH books has the best rules for AM?