The usual culprit...Daemons

march10k

I'm just out of ideas...I've been playing IG for over 15 years, from back in 3rd edition when they were just plain terrible. I think they're acknowledged as a potentially overpowered army now, but DoC make a mockery of the guard, just like they do everyone else. It's like Daemons are the US military, and every other codex is the African nation of your choice. Compared to daemons, I'm not sure any other book deserves the term "army."

I used to think that it was just the problem of Malefic Daemonology being overpowered. That lore is broken, but it's not really at the root of the problem. I played in a small tournament over the weekend (low turnout, they planned for 64, but...) that banned Malefic Daemonology. One of my opponents ran daemons. He tabled me. I didn't table anyone, but I did come in second behind him, miles ahead of the rest of the field, dominating every game, with only one drawn tertiary objective outside of the daemon game. He was one three possible points short of perfect, failing to table only one of his opponents. WITHOUT DAEMONOLOGY. The only reason he wasn't perfect was that getting even a single troops choice below 50% health cost you a point every game...and his squishy pink warp charge batteries were a bit hard to keep on the table.

So what killed me? shrouded maulerfiends hauling butt into ruins on turn one to set up for a turn two charge...

Invisible horde of hounds spreading out so far that they could charge anything they wanted, "only" have about half the horde close enough to fight, while the rest are still strung out a foot away threatening to charge pretty much half the board. I kid you not. The turn after the hounds killed the wyverns on top of my skyshield at the back of my deployment zone, the very next turn, they killed my hellhound at the back of HIS deployment zone... Two targets 36" apart killed in back to back turns...and invisible, so you can't do anything to them.