Drop Pod List: Effective for the Imperial Fists Legion?

Rommel44

Hey mates. Looking to get started in 30k here in a bit and I am already in the process of gathering the beginnings of my IF Army. Already have 50x MKVII Space Marines I will have converted with the breacher squad upgrade pack from FW, however I am debating on whenever I should run the Imperial Fists in a Drop Pod Army. According to a few of my friends, they can be pretty effective in a list like that, however many say I should run the Stone Gauntlet Imperial Fists list to benefit from there +1 BS as well as the +1 Toughness if I do decided to go that rout. Anyways, I am still very new to 30k so any advice and all advice to run an effective IF Legion in 30k would be greatly appreciated.

Besides Breachers, what else did you envision for the Force? Because if you want Drop Pod Army, that requires a Preator for the Orbital Assault RoW and your Squads will never number more than 10.

Read up on its restrictions. If you don't have the book/info, PM me and I'll see what I can do.

Beyond that, differing from our chapter Tactics in 40k, we're actually better at shooting since we get boosted to BS5, BS6 or even BS7 if you have a Master of Signal for a Further +1 BS.

We also have pretty decent Close Combat with our generic characters getting re-rolls to hit in challenges - though if you're taking a Preator, Sigismund, while costing 230 points, is pretty much the be-all-end-all for Preators in terms of how killy he is in a challenge. Though if you do field him, he will be a massive target.

Polux is another great character to consider over a Generic Preator. Not to mention he can swing his Power Fist at initiative if he sacrifices some attacks.