Interested in the Inquisition

So, I have been playing Space Wolves for a couple years, have recently started looking at using allied detachments, including assassins and the Inquisition. The play style I have developed is not only drop pods and TWC, but also rhinos and tanks. I guess what I'm looking to get out of the inquisition is cheap but durable backfield scoring, or some type of cost efficient long range support, or even both. Maybe also an inquisitor that can hang behind with his guys but can push forward and assist with the front line battle. Anyone have any advice for me?

Maybe look at Coteaz. Set him up with a shooty warband including heavy weapon servitors, a jokaero (or two), couple of Crusaders and fill the rest with Accolytes, maxing out on the special weapon upgrades.

OM Inquisitor in termy armour with psycannon and daemonhammer might work for you if you don't fancy Coteaz.

Cheers

I

They're not ideal for scoring. No access to Objective Secured, and they rely on transports for mobility.

At long range, you have Inquisitors with hellrifles or conversion beamers, up to 3 Servitors with heavy weapons per Henchmen Warband, and Jokaero. Maybe a Land Raider or a few storm bolter Acolytes. Henchmen are all BS3 and the shooty ones aren't durable at all, although Jokaero Customisations have a chance of mitigating that. Previous iterations were a lot more capable, you can't expect anything spectacular from them now.

Personally, I find they work much better as a mid- to close-range support than any of the above. They have easy access to decent psychic disciplines and, unlike the shooty ones, the assault-oriented Henchmen get the profile bonuses they need to make them good at their jobs. 

If you decide the ][ isn't going to fill its intended role, look at a Tempestus Scions detachment.