Imperial Guard project

Metecury

Hello folks, I have recently decided to get back into the hobby with the intention to start a new, personalised, imperial guard army and I am looking for some advice as I have never been particularly good at this sort of thing.

Instead of going with the usual Cadian looking force I thought about adding bits from some warhammer fantasy empire sprue, getting something like this as a result http://i.imgur.com/CUHvSIO.jpg

http://i.imgur.com/npab4fI.jpg

It's my first attempt at kitbashing and converting models so probably it's not perfect.

I am not really sure how to continue, I was thinking to use pistoliers bits for the veterans, men at arms bits for the standard troops and state troops+flagellants bits for conscripts. Ideas? Suggestions?

I was also thinking about using the handgunners arquebuse as a base for plasma guns, I could cut some parts from plasma pistols and normal plasma guns and add them to the arquebuses modifying them a bit. Do you guys think it would be worth it? Perhaps it would be better to stick with the normal plasma gun and use the arquebuse as a base for a sniper rifle?

I have no idea of what to do for vehicles aside from using fantasy bits for the guys on the turrets.

The colour scheme is also something on which I am undecided and so I wanted to ask you guys what do you think is the best out of these colour schemes here, I personally like them all and can't decide:

1) igbeta2.php?b62c=@iakk7_i3Wu4.i8PcKi6tYpi6tYpi8GmF._@@i7jsei7jsei8GmF_@@@..hpU3z_i87gpi3JKFhRbrs_&

2) igbeta2.php?b62c=@iakk7_i8PcK.i3Wu4@@@_.@@@@@.hVHO3hVHO3hVHO3__hpU3z.h3Avq@hRbrshnbw6&

3) igbeta2.php?b62c=@hghTl_hzuDP.hTW5B@@@.i3Wu4iakk7@@@@i3Wu4___..hpU3zi3Wu4_@hRbrshOv6M&

4) igbeta2.php?b62c=@h3Avq_i3r22.i8PcK@@@.i3Wu4iakk7@@@@hYrqH___..hpU3zi3Wu4_@hRbrshIaIz&

5) igbeta2.php?b62c=@hhG0S_i8PcK.hK83X@@@_.iakk7h4GXE@@@.h32x5h48Rwh48Rw__hpU3zi3Wu4hqviZ@hmjmehYbqS&

Welcome to the guard.