The Beginning of my first IG force.

Defibrillator

Hey everyone, 

This is my first squad of Guardsman and my first Chimera I have every painted and modeled.  I'm planning on building up a large Imperial Guard force to play with.  This is my introduction into the 40k tabletop, and I'm excited for more.  Thanks for viewing, and I appreciate any/all criticism as I'm just starting out.  

Bayonet Trooper

Bayonet Trooper

Voxman

Voxman

Shooter McGavin

Basic Trooper

Basic Trooper

Flamer Guardsman

Flamer Guardsman

Sarge of my first squad

Sarge of my first squad

Edit: And my Chimera

Chimera Side

My Chimera

Nice work on the paint

Is this your first foray into miniatures in general?

Plenty of good advice lurking around this forum already but if you have question ask!

If you haven't already once you've got codex it'll be worth getting the cadia formation ebook for the formations we have which aren't in our codex. Or their respective campaign books if you want the fluff and missions

Wyvrens are a must and mobility is key in the current edition

Good luck

Thank you both very much.  

And yes, this is my first real dive into miniatures.  I do have the rule book and AM codex.  

I was looking into building my list to the Emperors Wrath Artillery Company.  But I've been keeping my eye on lists to see what I like.  Though, I'm still trying to get a handle on list building.  So I'm hoping my local gaming store will help me out there.

For a first attempt that's a pretty good paint job wish my first minis turned out like that

The emperors wrath formation is a good one

But for a starting point I would suggest getting a cadian defence force box if you can still find one around (really good value boxset) plus a commissar

That will give you a good starting point combined with what you already have then you can start on artillery

The artillery without boots wont see you get past turn two or three they support each other