Are the IG Currently Lacking in 7th Edition?

Rommel44

Just wanted to ask you guys about the IG and a trend I have been noticing lately since I started playing them. Earlier this week, I went to a different store that I recently found out about and when I went there a lot of the 40k players were surprised that I was fielding Imperial Guard. To a lot of them, they feel that the Imperial Guard are a bad army right now as they need a major update to be competitive in this Edition. This of course lead to a debate and by the end of it, I couldn't do much to convince them despite winning 2 games. And this isn't the first time I have gone to play games and my opponents have made that same comment of me playing IG when they are an army lacking a lot atm.

This is my personal take on the IG. The Imperial Guard can still be a competitive Army in this Edition and compared to others, we still have some bite and we can still hold our own. However, we are currently falling behind compared to most of the top-tier armies at the moment and as it stands, we lack any real strong formations that are both flexible and effective atm, as most other armies have formations that completely outstrip ours. Need a lot of Point changes to actually reflect the cost of various units and tanks as many of them are over costed for what we get, bring back some special rules like Lumbering Behemoth, and could use an update on various formations and lists, especially the Forgeworld Death Korps of Krieg and Elysian lists. Another big change that we need is consistency and a unified set of rules for all IG armies, both FW and Standard. One if the biggest issues I have with the Imperial Guard is that there are numerous Army lists and Formations with different point values and rules and they all need to be updated to where they are all on the same page.