Starting Guard with Space Wolve Allies, help needed.

Hi all. I recently acquired a Macharius Vanquisher (one of my all time favorite FW models) which gives me the perfect excuse to start collecting Astra Militarum. It is my intention to start with a 1850 points army that uses Space Wolves allies (my main force) to bolster their ranks. Since I'm still very new to the Guard, however, I'm not completely sure what the best way of going about would be.

I took a look a the Start Collecting! Astra Militarum box, and it seems like good value for money. My initial thought was to get two of these boxes and build them into a CAD with an allied space wolves detachment.

The list I came up with broadly goes as follows:

CAD

HQ

Lord Commissar

Troops

10 Veterans w/ Missile Launcher

10 Veterans w/ Missile Launcher

Heavy Support

Leman Russ Exterminator

Leman Russ Exterminator

LoW

Macharius Vanquisher

Space Wolves Allied Detachment

HQ

Wolf Lord on Thunderwolf

Troops

10 Grey Hunters w/ metla guns in a Rhino

Fast Attack

3 Thunder Wolf Cavalry

Heavy Support

6 Long Fangs w/ Missile Launchers

I quite like this basic setup, but I'm having a hard time figuring out what wargear to give to the Guard.

My goal is to make this a fun and kinda fluffy (i.e. the exterminators) list. It is in no way meant to be competitive, but it would be nice if the army could hold it's own.

Suggestions for a different list, as long as they incorporate the Macharius, are appreciated to!

P.s. I wasn't completely sure where to post this. I hope I chose the right section tongue.png

A mere 16 points will make those veterans amazing. Buy Forward Sentries. Buy 3 sniper rifles. Repeat for the other squad. Cheap, and annoys MEQ and Monstrous Creatures to no end.