Which Warlord Trait?

Normal Norman

I am new to AM/IG in 7th and I am wondering which Warlord trait table people roll on.

It seems to me that if your Warlord is a tank commander then it is sensible to use the codex ones as the first three are the really good ones. Otherwise if you are using a CCS or Lord Com then unless your army is built around giving orders then is it is a bit of risk to take the codex ones despite old grudges or grand strategist.

The majority of the strategic traits are good as they were in 6th and I assume that very few people take command or personal traits with Guard especially as ones HQ tends to sit in a transport and can't project an aura. Thinking about it the command traits may not be bad for a Tank Commander but are no doubt overshadowed by the AM codex ones.

I haven't tried the tactical traits but some of them seem really good, rerolling the dice for victory points feels like a game winner to me.

For Guard one of the less direct ones is best as you're not going to be fighting much. Strategic is my favourite, Tactical is good for Maelstrom but I find a bit too random along with the nature of how the objectives work. I prefer a more reliable improvement that can help my army more directly :)

Yeh Im with WF

Depends what your playing

Strategic and tactical are good if you want to try and leverage reserves and cover or get a leg up on maelstrom.

The strategic one can be particularly random and ineffective at times.

The guard one is good if you want to maximise the use of your CCS/HQ. Unless I play maelstrom in future I'll probably use the guard traits as they're a bit more useful across the board. Compared to a few of the useless strategic ones you can be lumped with.