Mixed Heavy Weapons

beat_ronin

Hail fellow Guardsmen!

This is my first post here, although I'm not a new player. I played RT as a little kid (though that was more "pew-pew!" than proper playing). I started playing Guard and Inquisition as a grown-up at the tail end of 4th edition, and all through 5th, but 6th and 7th got too crazy for me. 8th seems like a fun edition I can get behind, so I'm back, and I always thought this seemed like a forum with a great attitude. So here I am.

Anyway, like I said I have a few editions sloshing around in my head (not to mention memory loss due to age!) but I'm thinking you can mix up heavy weapons teams in heavy weapons squads now? Everything can split fire right? I can't remember if you used to have to take three of the same weapon teams or if it's just what everyone did because it wasn't that effective to mix them up in the past. But now it looks like you can, and maybe it's not a bad idea. A couple of autocannons with a heavy flamer to discourage opportunistic chargers a little bit?

The heavy flamer isn't in the heavy weapons list available to HW teams. It's just a specific upgrade item for command squads and veterans, unfortunately.

Mixed squads are fine in principle but for the sake of orders, buffs, and positioning, it probably pays to run matching units? For longevity you might want to run your expensive lascannons/autocannons with lots of expendable friends in infantry units, and have weapons teams bring cheaper options and chip away at stuff without drawing too much attention.

p.s. hello fellow Canberran.

Edited by Brother_Angelus

Welcome!  I hope you enjoy your time here - and share pictures. :)

As for whether to split heavy weapons, yeah, I guess you can do that now.  Can't put a heavy flamer in the squad, though, as its not in the Astra Millitarum heavy weapons list - all units that can take one say so explicitly.  That said, I think there may be some value in putting different weapons in the same squad: