New to Forum and Deathwatch

xersent

Hi guys,

Apologies if this post is in the wrong place! 

I'm new to 40k and the joys that is the DW. iv had 2 1v1 games so far against my friend who played world eaters. I could do with some advice please :sad.:.

i need help with an army list that could help keep him at bay a little longer, as once he is in, i get stomped. 

I have various Vets, art, 2x lib (one with and one without termie armour), watch master (who was awesome fun to paint), bike squad (7 of them), vanguard squad (7 of them too, all melee), Land raider, Corvus and 2 dreads. 

He is wanting to play 2k points, which considering all i have played so far is 1x 500 point and a 2v2 1k. 

so if you guys have got any advice on what to get/take/burn/not bother with that would be great.

Xersent

Edited by xersent

Welcome to the forum xersent!

I'm not going to lie, you're probably going to hear a bit of negativity. The army is a characterful one for sure. As an index army it's pretty rough, very expensive pointswise, and has a fragile/elite nature to it that is extremely unforgiving.

DW are in a tough spot right now. I love the flyer still, the Deathwatch Master is a great HQ, and the basic vet is still 'good'. You can of course now including Primaris if you wish.

A lot of basic 'marine' stuff still works. There's a lot of power in effective use of a Landraider or two. The Razorback with (my fave) twin Assault Cannon is still very economical. Ven dreads are still great shooty boxes.

In a very compact nutshell, the biggest hindrance is that everything unique to Deathwatch is overpriced to varying degrees.... remember you may pay more per guy, but they die just as easily as a 'vanilla' marine.

There's always a temptation to tool up your squads with all the toys... it's just really difficult to be competitive when you do that. Stick to basic, strong choices and you'll have some fun against stuff like Chaos Space Marines.  :)